Nothing

images-1  by Karen Topakian

A few weeks ago, when I was in Armenian Church, the priest presented the parishioners with a quiz that he said five year olds had answered accurately but that graduates of Princeton couldn’t. Here’s the quiz:

What is greater than god? More evil than the devil. Rich people want it. Poor people have it. And if you eat it you will die?

He gave us a few minutes to think about it.

The Sunday school children in attendance wrote their answers on pieces of paper and handed them in.

I hoped I was smarter than a five year old and a Princeton grad but I just couldn’t come up with the answer. Being a non-believer in god and the devil put me at a distinct disadvantage. I kept thinking nature or the natural world, in answer to the first part but the other questions didn’t fit. And I also believe that poor people can be rich in ways other than monetarily.

The women sitting in front of me, turned around and whispered the answer before the priest divulged it from the pulpit.

Nothing.

I never would have come up with the answer. My eco-agnostic-economic views prevented me from seeing the world as simply as a child would. I’m not sure who has the better vantage point.

P.S. This will be my last posting for a few weeks, off to travel.

Comments

  1. The sad thing is that I couldn’t remember the answer… and I’ve heard it before!

  2. Funny but the first thing that popped into my mind was chocolate!

Leave a Reply

